Steam All The Greens

When I  first read on Kitchen Stewardship that some foods are better for you lightly cooked, I thought “oh great, another step. ugh”. If I have to start steaming greens every time we want a smoothie…well…just no. But…..

20170525_195615

I went on to read that dark leafy greens have oxalic acid. T’his can be bad for kidneys by building up and causing stones to form. The oxilic acid is the main reason for cooking your greens first. Cooking breaks down that acid.

Eating raw greens is very good for, but if your wanting to really increase your intake, lightly steaming a lot of it will help prevent kidney stones from the oxilic acid.

We definitely don’t eat enough greens right now for oxilic acid to be a worry. I want increase our amounts but this “steam first” idea seemed like an obstacle for me. But……

20170525_19572920170525_195654

Then I had a revelation about how this idea could actually be useful!!!……

20170525_195422

This “extra step” may be a solution to 2 problems.

20170526_023514

Steaming greens can solve the problem of – 1. needing to incorporate more greens into our diet and 2. having to throw out half my expensive organic greens because we didn’t eat it fast enough and it’s all slimey and gross now.

How?

FREEZE IT!!!!

THIS IS HOW I DID IT –

I bought the big giant bags of fresh organic mixed greens at Costco.

Got out my giant stock pan and my little metal fan steamy thing (which was a little small for my pan but it wasn’t really a problem).

Placed said steamy thing in the bottom of the pot with an inch or two of water.

Dumped in my greens.

Turned the heat to medium high and waited for it to wilt the greens.

You need to watch it closely.

Then I scooped it out with a slotted spoon onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. I molded the greens into little piles that were 3/4 c – 1 c.

Place the cookie sheet in the freezer until the greens are frozen (if you don’t have big freezer space and big cookie sheets this may take several batches).

Once frozen, pop the chunks of greens off the parchment paper and place in a frezer bag.

Now you can pull out one or two and throw in the blender with your smoothie! or add a couple chunks to a soup! or sautee in butter and lemon as a simple side dish!

No more wasted greens!

I love it!

20170526_023155

 

Leave a Reply

