HELP ME! I need a probiotic or a prebiotic?

I was going to write about probiotics. I was going to ask for advice on which probiotics are the best for the price.

But.

As I was doing research on probiotics and how they work…or …um…don’t work.

I was very surprised by what I found out. Here we go.

There are 7 billion people on the planet.

There are 5 nonillion bacteria on the planet.

Thats 5 times the number of stars in the universe.

100,000,000,000 (100 trillion)  of those bacteria are on/in you!

There are more than 1000 different species just in your digestive system. That makes the 12 species in my store bought kefir sound puney.

Yogurt, and yes even kefir, is not really a therapeutic amount of probiotics. Not that you should stop eating them. Kefir is a good source of many nutrients and that indirectly supports your gut flora.

The reason probiotics are not as helpful as you might think is because of the vast numbers of species and the fact that each species plays a different role and supports a different process.

Example : The only way consuming live Lactobaccilis is going to help you is if you happen to be completely wiped out of Lactobaccilis – that doesn’t usually happen in normal or even unhealthy life.

What we need is PREBIOTICS!!

Prebiotics are plant fibers that are indigestible and ferment in the lower intestine.

These fermented prebiotics feed your gut flora and make them happy!

Foods that work as prebiotics

  • artichokes
  • jicama
  • raw or cooked onions
  • raw under ripe bananas
  • sprouted grain breads
  • peas
  • apple cider vinegar
  • and more

While I do consume foods that fall on the prebiotic list, I know it should probably be more. Also my family eats even less of these than I do. So I am now on the hunt for a supplement prebiotic in pill form or a powder I can add to our regular smoothies.

Please share whatever info you have on prebiotic supplements!

Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

