HELP ME! I need magnesium!

 

I need magnesium! I’ve been trying different types and brands over the years and have yet to find one that we want to stick with.

tmp_2017050110251390400
Nature’s Plus got left by the stove once! lol

We’ve used Nature’s Plus Cal/Mag/VitD3 chewables and pill form. The pill is huge and hard to swallow. It’s also a little hard on the stomach. The chewable gets grosser and grosser the more you take. We always end up quitting it because we get to the point of not being able to even look at the bottle.

I’ve tried the Ancient Minerals brand magnesium lotion. After a couple weeks of trying to remember to use it daily it started to sting. I have no idea why. My body does seem to be a synthetic or altered ingredient detector. If there’s something bad for you in it, my body will react after a short period of habitual use.

81SpvHI2wmL._SY679_.jpg

I’ve tried Natural Calm. I think it’s a good supplement, but honestly I’ve already got got 3-4 drinks I make everyday ( coffee-sometimes it’s bulletproof, my Ningxia Red soda, herbal tea, and protein smoothie). I don’t really wanna make another drink!

So here’s what I’ve learned about magnesium supplements.

Magnesium is a mineral that is involved in most processes in the body.

Magnesium is the center of the chlorophyll molecule, that’s why dark green vegetables are such a good source of magnesium! Too bad my family hates salad!

Magnesium has to be stabilized with something. That’s why there are different kinds or types of magnesium supplements (like mag. oxide, mag. citrate, mag. glycinate etc.). The magnesium is the same no matter what it’s bound to, and the different things it’s bound to serve different purposes for your health.

Magnesium is hard to absorb. Only up to 45% is absorbed, and calcium competes with magnesium. If you take calcium and magnesium together you will absorb less of both. Also magnesium is absorbed better through the skin ( that’s why I tried the lotion, and that’s why an Epsom salt bath works so well).

  • Good food sources for magnesium are:
  • Coffee
  • Tea
  • Chocolate
  • Spices – google “spices with magnesium”
  • Nuts
  • Green Veggies

While I was reading about magnesium, I read about Magnesium L-threonate ( also called Magtein). I read that it can pass through the blood brain barrier. It’s been studied for patients with Alzheimers and cognitive disorders. A research study, published in the journal Neuron, showed that it improved working memory, long term memory and short term memory!

I have found that I have a mild case of Anomic Aphasia (I’ll do another post all about it eventually, and you’ll see it in my videos occasionally) caused by a car accident I was in when I was 17. I hit the left side of my head hard enough to black out for a few minutes ( honestly, I don’t know how long, it could’ve been as long as 15 minutes).  Because of this, I feel that I need some brain support. I ordered some of that Magtein. I’ll let you know how I like it.

Have you tried Magtein?

What magnesium supplement is your favorite?

Do you have any tips for me on how to get more dark green veggies into my family, especially since they don’t love salad?

Thanks for reading and commenting!

5 thoughts on “HELP ME! I need magnesium!

  1. I have the powdered drink of magnesium with calcium but I hate the taste. I usually add it with some oils like citrus fresh or lemon. I can’t wait to hear how this magtein.

    Like

    1. Yes I’ve tried a powdered one that was already lemon flavored. It wasn’t too bad, but I already have so many drinks I mix up I didn’t want to add another. Don’t you love lemon oil! I can’t wait to try citrus fresh too. We just got out ER order last night and tried some Jade Lemon in our Ningxia. So good!

      Like

      1. Looove lemon! Citrus fresh is a fave but there are times that it doesn’t taste good to me and has the taste of soap lol so that’s when I usually diffuse it with peppermint!

        Like

Leave a Reply

