Homemade Flax-seed Hair Gel – VIDEO

Because of what I’ve learned recently ,about the chemicals used in hair products and how easily our skin absorbs those chemicals, I’ve decided to find healthier alternatives.

I have naturally curly hair and I use hairgel almost everyday. I have been using one that works great, but the ingredient list is so-so. That hairgel is also $20 + shipping for a mediumish bottle!

I’ve been seeing these flaxseed hairgel recipes for years so I thought I would try it.

I’m pretty happy with it. I was surprised that it doesn’t have any stickyness to it or crunch when it dries. It seems to be very moisturizing and smells soooo gooood!

Below the video is the recipe and all the info and where I got my ingredients.


Homemade Flax-seed Hair Gel

2 c water

1/4 c whole flax-seed

1 tbl aloe gel

1 t vitamin e oil

10 to 20 drops therapeutic grade essential oils  ( I chose Lavendar and Copaiba for their skin and hair supportive properties, and they smell so good!)

Before you start, get your panty hose sock stretched over a sturdy medium sized glass and have your mixing bowl and ingredients ready. The flax-seed gel will strain well if it’s hot. If it cools it will firm up and be hard to strain.

Put the water and flax-seeds in a saucepan on medium/high heat

Stir often to keep the seeds from sticking to the bottom

It’s ready when it starts to get frothy and bubbly

BE CAREFUL! EXTREMELY HOT!!!

While your seed water is still very hot, carefully pour into your panty hose sock streched over your glass. Use a spatula to get all the seeds

Carefully pick up your sock by the top and use tongs to squeeze the gel out of the sides of the sock

Pour gel into mixing bowl and add the remaining ingredients

Use a fork or a whisk to mix it well

Use a funnel to pour the mixture into a container of your choice


I have 3a-3b curls, medium thickness and this hair has a medium hold for me. I use about 2 tablespoons worth finger combed through sopping wet hair and scrunched. If I use more than 2 tablespoons I get better hold but a little bit of crunch. I will probably use it up before it goes bad. Check back for updates.

Thanks for looking!

Music credits – Life of Riley Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Leave a Reply

